One Problem, Three Solutions: Home Remedies to Fight Keratosis Pilaris

I’m Looking For…

I’ve mentioned in one of my earlier posts, The Real Bumps of Hyperkeratosis Pilaris, that I am in search of finding a solution to this type of skin problem. If you want to know more regarding this condition, click the above link.

I am quite disappointed with myself because until now, I haven’t yet discovered (or invented) the thing that’ll make my bumps disappear. Although my case is quite mild, I still get a bit conscious and uncomfortable with my bod.

No, I haven’t tried the lotion that my derma suggested because it is expensive and hard to find (yet I guess it’s  more because of the price issue). The alternatives that I’ve tried like the Nivea milk bath and Lactacyd’s skin wash weren’t effective. I gave up the quest for a cheaper way of fighting HP.

However, perhaps the skin fairy heard my plea and led me unto a great discovery. I was busy browsing through Pinterest when one of the pins caught my eyes. I clicked it and was directed to a video link of the popular show The Doctors. Fortunately, the topic for that video  is hyperkeratosis pilaris and I’m just so glad to hear the doctors giving three tips on how to fight the skin problem.

If you want to watch the informative flick, click this. On the other hand, if you wanna cut right through the chase, I have prepared here a diagram telling the “Secrets of Fighting HP Without Spending a Fortune.”

Note that hyperkeratosis pilaris or keratosis pilaris are used interchangeably in this article as they mean the same skin condition.

Fight Hyperkeratosis Pilaris

keratosis pilaris

1. Olive Oil + Sugar

Andrew Ordon, M.D, FACS, a plastic surgeon suggests you make a body scrub out of olive oil and sugar. He explained that sugar breaks up the keratin in the skin while olive oil moisturizes it.

2. Aspirin + Warm Water

Crushing ten tablets of aspirin and mixing the powder with warm water will give you a paste that’ll keep keratosis pilaris away. According to Jim Sears, M.D., a pediatrician, aspirin contains Beta  Hydroxy Acid, an organic compound that can exfoliate the skin. As a pediatrician, he also mentioned that keratosis pilaris is hereditary because most of his patients share the same skin condition as with their parents. Good news though, he mentioned that this condition is usually outgrown once one reaches the age of thirty.

3. Anti-Dandruff Shampoo

If the other two failed to nail it, perhaps this much easier option will do the trick – look for an anti-dandruff shampoo that contains salicylic acid. According to Lisa Masterson, M. D. (OB-GYN), salicylic acid reduces skin swelling, softens it and helps slough off dead skin.

Does It Work?

I’ve tried making the olive oil and sugar concoction and have been using it for about three days. So far, there are no dramatic changes yet on my skin but I’ll keep you posted for updates.

As for the two other options, you may try them for yourself. Don’t forget to leave a comment for the results! =)

You might also like:

what is HP

The Real Bumps of Hyperkeratosis Pilaris

make-ups expire

Yes Girl, Make-Ups Expire

online load, globe, sun,smart

11 comments

  1. Pingback: Yes Girl, Make-ups Expire « Chopstick Lady

  2. Pingback: The People’s Pharmacy Quick and Handy Home Remedies: Q&As for Your Common Ailments - Tips and advice on how you can get cold sore freedom - Cold Sore Freedom

  3. KP Duty – Too many times my patients had difficulty trying to figure out when to apply a variety of products or find effective items that were also well tolerated. And KP is most definitely one of those skin conditions that responds best to a multi-therapeutic approach. In my experience single ingredient products or routines don’t do nearly as well as combination therapy. So I sat down and tried to combine the best active agents into a single cream targeted at keratosis pilaris.

  4. Keratosis pilaris is not a dangerous or malignant medical condition, therefore, treatment is not necessary, but many seek it due to cosmetic reasons. Creams and lotions are the most common treatments, although many prefer to take pills that promote healthy skin as well, such as biotin. The creams and lotions can have a variety of ingredients, including general acne prevention ingredients such as salicylic acid as well as moisturizers such as Vitamin D and E. Steroid creams can be used to reduce redness. Remedies such as using coconut oils to treat keratosis pilaris is one of the options available for ones that looks for a cheaper way to get rid the skin condition.

    Bumps are likely to return with this skin condition, until typically after 30 or when it decides, on its own, to clear up. Long baths and using a washcloth, brush or pumice stone can help open up bumps. Laser therapy is also one solution that is rather drastic, but helpful.

    http://www.keratosispilaris101.com/treat-keratosis-pilaris-with-coconut-oils/

  5. Alex

    I have a pretty mild version of this, and I use a scrubby soap called Sandstone from Lush. It seems to help a bit, and I’ve done the coconut oil treatment before – that helps too. I might try combining them and see how that goes.

    http://www.lushusa.com/Sandstone/00862,en_US,pd.html This has coconut oil in it as well, but it washes off with the suds mostly – I’m thinking of just applying a bit after scrubbing up.

  6. Hello, kumusta na yung KP mo?

    • Hi! I used Neostrata Lotion and it was effective. However, you need to use it for more than 2 months consistently to see results. Yet it was great, medjo may rashes pa ko natira pero konti na lang talaga at di na halata.

Let Me Know What You Think

