Howard Carter and The Curse of Tutankhamun

The Real Tomb Raider

Informal portrait of Howard Carter (the archae...

Informal portrait of Howard Carter (the archaeologist) standing with a book in his hand next to a train at a station in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is the birthday of Howard Carter – the famous discoverer of the tomb of Tutankhamun, the boy pharaoh. Thanks to Google, by the way, for commemorating it via their search page.

I have always been a fan of Egyptian stuff and the like. I do recall having a weird dream years ago wherein I was an Egyptian princess and my mom was a queen. Ah-uh, wishful thinking has no limits. The story of pharaohs, pyramids, sphinx’s and what have you just don’t fail to amuse my mind lost in wonder and awe by the greatness of this civilization.

Today, I send my birthday regards to “The Father of Egyptomania.” When Howard Carter and his team of “Egyptian Geeks” opened up that long-shut seal of Tutankhamun’s tomb on the 16th of February 1932, they didn’t just make a great discovery but they opened Egypt’s mystery to the world.

“Can you see anything?,” asked Carnarvon (the expedition’s financer) to Carter when the latter was able to make a breach thru the top left hand corner of the doorway leading to the tomb.

“Yes, wonderful things.” Carter replied.

The Curse

Along with the name of Howard Carter comes the never-ending story of the so-called “Curse of Tutankhamun” – a series of accounts saying that after the opening of King Tut’s tomb bad luck came to those who are involved in it, primarily Lord Carnarvon who died 4 months and 7 days after the BIG event.

After his untimely death caused by a mosquito bite that he shaved and got infected (blood poisoning), a swarm of taboo stories emphasizing what will happen if one opens the forbidden resting place of pharaohs emerged, with media playing the most part of the circulation.

Read this article about the curse.

Response to the linked article: I am not suprised. An amazing discovery is worth the eyes and ears of everyone… Yet if asked if I buy the story, I’ll say between science and superstition, I prefer both. I believe in science but I also do not discriminate superstition. I think this so-called “curse” can be true in some aspects.

If you wanna read more about Howard Carter, let me direct you to Wiki.

howard carter and the curse of tutankhamun

On another note, if you want to know more about Egypt but in a fun and amusing way, I suggest you check out this game – Children of the Nile.

It’s a bit boring if you’re hoping for adventure – but it suits well the taste of “Sims addicts and free-builders.” The game lets you make your own Egyptian city, incorporating all the aspects of what makes up the “Gift of the Nile.”

Just Wishing

At one point in my life I actually wanted to be an anthropologist; to explore, dig down earth, and dust artifacts… But though I didn’t pursue my dream of becoming an archeologist or Egyptologist, my hunger is somehow being satiated by books or web contents that I read. What can I say? There is much yet to be seen.

Tomb of Tutankhamun in the Valley of the Kings

Tomb of Tutankhamun in the Valley of the Kings (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Many of the world’s past is still kept hidden from our knowledge. With the thousands of pyramids lying neath the sands of Egypt, what could be there waiting to be unearthed? Indeed, the world is full of mysteries and wonderful things – stories left by the fragments of our forefathers and the lost civilizations before our dawn.

Sometimes I do mull over the history of mankind. . . I wanted to relive the past and understand how it shaped us and is directing our future. It might sound futile and negative to look back and dig our very roots, yet for me it’s about knowing where you came from, so that you will feel complete as you journey to where you’re going to.

The epitaph of Howard Carter says…

“May your spirit live, May you spend millions of years, You who love Thebes, Sitting with your face to the north wind, Your eyes beholding happiness” and “O night, spread thy wings over me as the imperishable stars”.

May he find rest at the bosom of our One True God.

Note: I do not own the pictures posted, snaps are linked to the source site.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Google Doodle: Happy 138th Birthday, Howard Carter | Wis U.P. North

  2. Pingback: Howard Carter, British explorer and discoverer of King Tut’ tomb | LEARN FROM NATURE

  3. curse are really scary!!

  4. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it ;) I will return yet again since i have saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

Let Me Know What You Think

